Emotional Eating Journal Entry: Day 2

Day one of my journey was an easy one, I didn’t stray from the food plan I had in mind, I downloaded MyFitnessPal, and went to the gym. I’m feeling cautious optimistic about my healthy life course. 

So in that tone, here is my second entry of the Emotional Eat Journal:

“What do I want out of my life? How do I make sure I get it?”

I want to be free of my physical limitations due to my weight/size. My weight isn’t as much of a factor as my size and health, but along with health and size comes less weight. When I was training before, I hit a plateau of weight where I wasn’t losing any weight but I was feeling and looking better. I had more stamina and could do things that my body wouldn’t let me do before. I need to get back to that place and beyond. 

I want to be able to go on adventures and travel without feeling like my body mass is a hinderence. As I said in my previous post, I’m embarrassed by how large I’ve gotten. It’s sickening to think how easy it was for one slip up to lead to me gaining all the weight I’d worked so hard to lose and then some, back. 

I’m one of those people who has struggled, and will struggle, to keep weight off for my whole life. I know now that I can’t let up. I have to find a path and stay on it, otherwise it might cost me my life. I don’t want to be on medication for health issues that could have been solved by me being less of a shit-pig. Don’t get me wrong- I’m all about body positivity and loving the skin you’re in, but at a certain point I think it becomes unhealthy to be a larger person. It hurts your joints, your heart and other organs, it hurts your brain because of the torment that plus-sized people deal with. I consider myself to be a fairly confident person, but I think there’s a real breaking point for everyone; I’ve reached my breaking point. I’m unhappy in my body because I know it’s capable of so much more. 

So how do I make sure I reach my goals? Persistence. It’s as simple as not letting yourself slip fully into the point of no return. Of course a piece of cake won’t completely ruin my body (unless it’s blueberry, cause I’m allergic). But the problem that I have is thinking that “One piece of cake won’t kill my week” leads to “Oh I worked out 4 times this week, maybe some cookies would be nice” and then fall into that routine. I can’t let that happen, not this time. 

I know when I read articles about life-style changes and healthy living, it says that you can’t keep yourself from eating sweets because it will lead to a binge or something but my mind works opposite; One slip leads to a tumble that leads to a free fall into unhealthy eating habits. I have to abstain from unhealthy foods if I want to achieve my goal of living long enough to grow old with Matt. 

So that’s it, that’s want I want out of my life and how I plan on getting it. 

What do you want out of life? How do you plan on getting there? Let me know on twitter or instagram using #deesweightlossjourney and tag me! @realtalkwithdee

xoxo

2 thoughts on “Emotional Eating Journal Entry: Day 2”

  1. I’ll be your accountability partner if you need one. Since I’m uninsured now it’s more important than ever to keep myself healthy! I love you and I’m proud you are so open and honest about your personal journey ❤️👍

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know people say balance is key but I’m so bad at balance. I found that completely being refined sugar free was a giant key to me getting rid of most of my excess weight. I can’t just have one bite or one drink or one of anything. Of course that’s something I can work on and will get better with as I age but I almost think I just need to say goodbye to sugar forever. I’ve already gone off gluten.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

