Cusp

via Daily Prompt: Cusp

I have been working at my job for about 9 months and I really like it, but it wasn’t what I want to do with my life. So I thought to myself, why waste my time at a job that isn’t getting me experience with what I want to do?

So I found another job. The ice rink that Matt works at (and I score keep at) was hiring for a front desk person so I pounced on it. Within a few days I had the job and a few days later I was starting my training.

Basically what I do is make sure that everything is running smoothly at the rink and check people in and rent skates out. Its an easy job, much like Dotty’s, but requires a bit more brain power. I hadn’t had to think about anything for my job at Dotty’s because everything was so routine; I had my regulars and all I do is get them drinks or cash in free slot play. But with the Fox Valley [Ice Arena] job, I have to think. It’s such a refreshing place to be. I absolutely adore it. I get to interact with people during the day, which I love, and I get to spend my days in an ice rink!

I feel like I’m on the edge of something here, the cusp if you will. I feel excited to go to work, rather than dreading it. I think I finally understand what it’s like to love your job. I mean, that’s not to say that I didn’t love jobs before – because I did. When I worked at Old Navy, I loved my job. I may have had days that I hated everything and everyone, but that job was amazing. I made life-long friends and learned how to use a steamer and keep my balance walking up ladders.

I never really watched hockey growing up. It was a strictly baseball and football house for us, until MLS came around which I avoided like the plague. But the playoffs the year before I met Matt was when I discovered my love for the sport, or at least my interest. My dad is all about the Bay Area sports teams, so my first taste of hockey was the San Jose Sharks (blah). I was hooked from my first game. Then I started going to the college hockey games with Kita and then met Matt. When we first started dating, I had decided I was an Oilers fan, because I liked watching the show “Oil Change” on NHL Network. But Matt is a huge (HUGE) LA Kings fan so I started watching those games with him.

I now call myself a Kings fan, much to my father and best friends’ dismay. But I’m an avid watcher of the sport, and I honestly could care less about what team is playing. So working at a rink makes sense to me. I get to be around the people who love ice sports as much as me, because I also love figure skating. I really like curling too, but we don’t have that at the rink.

Basically, I feel like I’m on the edge of something really exciting and I can’t wait to see what happens. So for now, I’m so happy. I have nothing in collections, payment arrangements set up for all my bills not in collections, I’m not living paycheck to paycheck anymore. 2017 is my year, and I can’t wait to dive in.

xoxo

D

One thought on “Cusp”

Leave a comment