Gloom and Bloom

It’s such a gloomy day out today. It’s one of those days that makes you just want to curl up in bed with a cup of hot coco and a good book. But of course I’m at work…

I’m working 6 or 7 days in a row so that I can have some time off next week. I’m so grateful to be with a company that allows its employees to have time off for the holidays. The last few places that I’ve worked have had blackout periods and required work days (Black Friday and Christmas Eve) so it’s refreshing and exciting to be with this company. They truly appreciate me here and I’m so happy! 

Next week, Matt and I will travel to Missouri to spend Thanksgiving with his aunts, uncles and cousins! Oh and his mother! I’m so excited! At first Cindy wasn’t originally going to be joining us, but she called us on Tuesday to surprise us with the news that she would be joining us. I’m so thankful to have a “mother-in-law”that I get along with so well. I hear all of these horror stories of people I know not getting along with their in-laws. I feel very lucky to have such a loving woman in my life who gave birth to my favorite human on earth. I should note that I call her mom MIL because even though Matt and I are not married, we’ve been together for nearly 4 years and most people call us husband and wife anyways. 

Last Thanksgiving was the first that Matt and I hosted. My parents and his mother came. It was a wonderful time and I was so happy to have spent it with my parents who I don’t see as often as I would like to. While I enjoyed hosting the event, I’m so happy that it’s going to be a laid back time for me this year. Matt’s family is so welcoming to me and love me like I’m family. I just feel blessed (#blessed). 

I’m glad I have something to look forward to because this weather has got me real down. It’s trying to play me, hard. I’m not having it. My depression and anxiety have been at an all time high coming down off the election; I don’t want to discuss the election in here, but I would like to mention that I have since deleted the Facebook app off my phone because of the hurtful words being said between friends because of the election. 

Self care has been heavy on my mind, I’m doing a lot of praying and meditating. It’s helping a lot to be honest. I haven’t prayed since I was told I had to when I was younger. It always seemed unnatural to me because I never felt like it was my choice. But in the last few months, I find myself doing it often. I pray for my friends, family, my health, my happiness, and for the world to calm down and find joy. For meditation, I typically just find some non-lyrical music and focus on my breathing and relaxing tense muscles. 

I can feel myself getting back into a normal routine, getting up early and going to be early, skin care, and makeup. It’s refreshing and just in time. I want to be my happiest self for the holidays so I can really soak up all the love and joy I find myself surrounded by. 

Think happy thoughts and happiness will be there. 

Real Talk 

xoxo

Leave a Reply

