Stick to Your Guns. 

(No, not the band.) 

It’s something that I’ve always been afraid of, losing my authenticity. Although to be honest I’m not too unique, but who really is? I was reading in a book recently, Furiously Happy I believe, and she said (I’m just going to directly quote the book because this passage is too good)“I don’t understand why people keep pushing that ‘Don’t be some random person. BE UNIQUE’ message. You’re already incredibly unique. Everyone is incredibly unique. That’s why the police use fingerprints to identify people. So you’re incredibly unique … but in the exact way that everyone else is. (Which, admittedly, doesn’t really sing and is never going to make it on a motivational T-shirt.) So none of us are unique in being unique because being unique is pretty much the least unique thing you can be, because it comes naturally to everyone. So perhaps instead of “BE UNIQUE” we should be saying, “Be as visibly fucked up as you want to be because being unique is already taken.” By everyone, ironically enough.

Or maybe we should change the message to ‘Don’t just be some random person. Be the MOST random person.’”

And Jenny is right, everyone is so worried about being unique that they end up being just like everyone else. It can be frustrating to try and be your own person, because even though they say “be yourself, everyone else is already taken” it’s kind of bullshit.

That’s why I’m more worried about being authentic than being unique. Although I’m sure they’re like the same thing but the wording sounds better lol. Oh god, did I really just use “lol”? Authenticity, to me, means sticking to your guns and not wavering in your morals and values. I think this is something very special because not everyone is like that.

I’m not one of those kids that was straight-edge or said I was going to keep me virginity till marriage but I always admired the people who did because, if they stuck with it, I thought that was very cool of them; they set their minds to something and saw it through. Not everyone is like that though. I’ve been one of those people before, someone who didn’t see something through. I fact, I have a half-finished blanket that I started knitting about 3 years ago and I still haven’t finished.

But I find my authenticity in how I present myself everyday. I haven’t always been authentic to myself, but in the last ten years I think I’ve finally figured it out. Or at least most of it. I don’t follow trends often, but those that I do I make sure they’re ones I like because I like them not because my favorite celebrity does.

I think everyone at a certain point gets to this state of mind; Where they just don’t feel the need to follow the ridiculous trends. Like, ok I get it, the 90’s were funky and cool but we left that shit behind. Some of it I like but it’s stuff that I never really let go of in the first place.

But if you feel truly deep in your soul that following trends is what makes you feel alive, then that’s you feeling authentic. If you feel deep in your core that wearing a tail and ears is your bliss, then that’s you being authentic. I’m not here to tell you how to live your life, I just want to share with you how I live my life. I live my life authentic. I do not waiver. I know what I like and I’m not ashamed.

I like stuffed animals. I like wearing my hair half up in a man-bun style. I wear short shorts in the summer even though I’m hefty. I call myself hefty instead of fat. I love to fish. I love hockey. I love my boyfriend. I love living in a travel trailer. I have an anxiety disorder that I treat with medication. I am not ashamed of who I am. And you shouldn’t be either.

(Edit: I’m sorry if the photo looks weird, I’m posting from my phone)

-DF

What makes you feel authentic? Let me know in the comments or on Twitter or Instagram @iblog1988

Leave a Reply

